Skip to main content

Getting Involved in our Community

STCC joined with the Multiple Sclerosis & Parkinson’s Society of Canterbury as a part of a wider national campaign for fundraising and advocacy.

The Multiple Sclerosis & Parkinson’s Society of Canterbury was established in 1962 and has been actively involved in the community for over 50 years.

The team are highly regarded in professional circles, both locally and nationally as a resource for evidence-based practice in assisting people to maximise their independence and quality of life whilst living with Multiple Sclerosis or Parkinson’s. Their mission is focused around providing professional support and services to people with Multiple Sclerosis and Parkinson’s in Canterbury.

We collected outside Hornby Countdown on both Friday and Saturday because STCC celebrates being an “Inclusive Community” that cares about the wellbeing of everyone. This is what is means to be a Catholic school driven by social justice values.

Society spokesman, Mr Eamon Reyn, said that, “I would just like to pass on a heart felt thank you to the boys who collected for the Multiple Sclerosis and Parkinson’s Society of Canterbury on the 7th and 8th of September. It is really appreciated by the Society and all of its members that you are prepared to give of your time to help those who are suffering from these conditions. Know that the money that you raised is going to be spent to enable the betterment of the lives of those in your community. The MS & P Society works really hard for those of us struck by these conditions running a gym, yoga classes and also courses to help cope with and understand the afflictions that avail us and make sure that we can continue living full and fruitful lives and you have become an important part of that. Thank you again and all the best for the rest of your school year.”

The students were:

Josh Larsson, Matthew Woodfield, Mitchell Wall, Kieran Prendergast, Jakob Hoogenboezem, Damien Vincent-Campbell, Omar Ali, Bowen Hodgson, Isaac Kirdy-Chaplin, Christian McCoy, Alfred Esau, Declan Van der Erf, Josh Brand, William McCorkindale, Matthew Baggott, Jack Pugh, Joshua Doocey, Nathan Bruce, Olliver Darby & Jacob Baillie

Huge thanks to Mrs Elizabeth Kennedy, Mr Chris Leader and Mr Andrew Jones who supported the students. Next year we will work closely with the Society and support them more. If this sounds like you, then contact Mr Stephen Kennedy.