Skip to main content

Sports Awards 2020

Continuing on from this year’s theme of ‘different’, so too was our annual sports awards night.

Yes different, but still a great night filled with laughs, food, joy and a time to pay homage to those students who are performing well in the sporting arena.

In previous years, this event was held at the Hornby Working Men’s Club. But due to unforeseen circumstances and on-going renovations, the prestigious occasion was instead hosted in our own backyard (the STC Hall).

A chance to celebrate sport where it all began for many of our old boys, as well as allowing for cheaper ticket prices, made for a night that was special and inclusive to everybody.

Here are the special awards that were presented on the night:

Honours Tie Presentation

Representing New Zealand at Football:

Oliver Cosgrove

Representing New Zealand at Rugby League:

Felix Fa’atili

Montel Lisala

Swimming Winners 2020

Year 7 Swimming – Ben Morrison

Year 8 Swimming – Kalib Clarkson

Under 14 Swimming – Xavier Lynch

Under 15 Swimming- Marcus Bernal

Under 16 Swimming – Aubrey Gilmour

Senior Swimming – Cody Reid

Cross Country Winners 2020

Year 7 Cross Country – Draved Henry

Year 8 Cross Country – Kalib Clarkson

Year 9 Cross Country – Waisea Henry

Year 10 Cross Country – Daniel Prescott

Year 11 Cross Country – Liam O’Donnell

Year 13 Cross Country – Nick Dravitzki

Athletics Winners 2020

U12 Athletics – Draved Henry

U13 Athletics – Neihana Mata’afa

U14 Athletics – Jaedyn Smith

Junior Athletics – Harvey Cogle

Year 11 Athletics – Liam O’Donnell & Joshua Price

Year 12 Athletics -Tyler Tapa-Wither

Senior Athletics Troy McGillicuddy

Major Awards:

Junior Team of the Year – U15 Quad Rowing

Intermediate Team of the Year – Yr 7/8 Basketball

Intermediate Sportsman of the Year – Kalib Clarkson

Team of the Year – 2nd XV Rugby

Referee of the Year – Harvey Gordon

Rising Team of the Year – 1st XI Cricket

Junior Sportsman of the Year – Johnny McCardle/Brody Helem

Sportsman of the Year – Oliver Cosgrove

Outstanding Contribution to STC Sport Student

Kole Harmer/Kieran Charlton/Daniel Fogarty/Nick Dravitzki

Outstanding Contribution to STC Sport Staff 

Dave Wong/Sam Cook/Jack Mayo

STC Coach of the Year – Hamish Barclay/Phil McKendry