Skip to main content

Term 1 Sport

STC EVENTS

Key contact:

Alex Coulthard – acoulthard@stc.school.nz

Swimming Sports:

Date: Friday 12th of February

Please talk to your son’s mentor teacher for more information

Athletics Day:

Date: Wednesday 24th of February

Please talk to your son’s mentor teacher for more information

Cross Country:

Date: TBC

YR 7/8 SPORT

Key contact

Daniel Kahura – dkahura@stc.school.nz

Summer Tournament:

Date: Tuesday 16th March

Sports: Cricket, Golf, Tennis, Touch, Softball, Orienteering, Bowls

Selection Process: Privileged base or trials

Triathlon:

Date: Tuesday 23rd of March

Selection Process: Anyone can enter providing they are competent

Rugby League Tournament:

Date: Tuesday 30th March

Selection Process: Trials

Canterbury Swimming:

Date: Tuesday 13th April

Selection Process: Finish top 2/3 at STC Swimming Sports (competetive)

Year 7/8 Tuesday Sport:

Sign ups: 19th of April

Starts Term 2

Information will be sent out at a later date
Contact Email: acoulthard@stc.school.nz

WEDNESDAY SPORT (Yr 9-13 only)

Touch: (9-13)

Date: Wednesday 17th February

Selection process: Trials and age groups

More details TBC: contact (acutbush@stc.school.nz ) for any questions

Bowls, Mountain biking, Tennis:

Please get in touch with (acutbush@stc.school.nz) for any questions regarding this.

CRICKET

Sign ups are still open for all age groups

Season starts: 6th of February

Key Contacts

Alex Coulthard: acoulthard@stc.school.nz

Tim Muir: tmuir@stc.school.nz

STC Cricket Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/STCCricket

ROWING

Sign ups: End of term 2

If you are interested there may be some opportunities over the next month to give it a go. Please get in contact if you are keen.

Key Contacts

Alex Coulthard: acoulthard@stc.school.nz

Daniel Ryan: dryan@stc.school.nz

Tom Tennent: ttennent@stc.school.nz

FOOTBALL

Sign ups: 19th of April

Season Starts Term 2

Information will be sent out at a later date

Key Contacts

Alex Coulthard: acoulthard@stc.school.nz

Blair Scadden: bscadden@stc.school.nz

STC Football Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/STCFootball

RUGBY

Key contacts:

Johnny Leo’o – jleo’o@stc.school.nz

Daniel Kahura – dkahura@stc.school.nz

Initial sign-ups will take place at the Gym during week 2

Please see schedule below;

U14 – Tuesday 9th Feb

U13 – Wednesday 10th Feb

U12 – Thursday 11th Feb

U15 – Monday 18th Feb

Once coaches/mangers are confirmed for teams, then details of training times and other specific information will be released.

STCC Rugby 2021 Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/groups/1808770869418931

BASKETBALL

Key contacts:

Joe Hammond – jhammond@stc.school.nz

Jack Mayo – jmayo@stc.school.nz

Trials will start over the next 2 weeks in the Gym:

U15 – Thursday 25th Feb (2.45pm – 4pm)

U17 – Thursday 18th Feb (2.45pm – 4pm)

Seniors – TBC

Social basketball sign-ups from Week 3.

Once coaches/mangers are confirmed for teams, then details of training times and other specific information will be released.

STC Basketball Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/stthomasbasketball/

VOLLEYBALL

Date: Seniors: Tuesday 9th Feb, Juniors: Monday 15th Feb Finish March 15th

Selection Process: Trials

Tournaments : Depending on placings in competitions – Further communication to come.

South Island

SISS (Mainland), Christchurch

26 – 28 March

SISS Satellite Tournament – Christchurch

23 – 25 March

SISS Juniors, Invercargill

23 – 25 November

Senior Championships – Pioneer Stadium

12 – 14 March

Junior Championships – Pioneer Stadium

5 – 7 November


ATHLETICS/CROSS COUNTRY:

Any boys interested in representing the school for athletics events please get in touch with (acutbush@stc.school.nz) We have a Facebook group you can be added to keep up with details of events.

For future reference all sport information and expression of interest opportunities are regularly disseminated through Edge notices, email and class/assembly announcements.

Also, please ‘like’ and ‘share’ our St Thomas of Canterbury College Sport Facebook page for current updates, celebratory posts, and live streams for fixtures.

(https://www.facebook.com/stccsport)

All sporting tournaments/events that the school has access to is typically forwarded on from Primary Sports Canterbury and School Sport Canterbury. There are many individual clubs and organisations that host their own competitions but opportunities to enter are typically kept ‘in-house’.

We ask, if you are involved within a club/organisation that host their own competitions and feel this could be of great value to the school, please let us know.