Pastoral

As a team, we work closely with each other to work out the best path for our students.

Leader of Pastoral Care

Dan O’Brien dobrien@stc.school.nz

Dan has the overall responsibility for the pastoral team. As a team, they work closely with each other to work out the best path for the individual student. In circumstances that require a higher level of intervention, Dan will work with all parties involved whether that be student, teacher, parents and other relevant community affiliates within our restorative framework.

Senior Dean and Leader of Health

Paul Burton pburton@stc.school.nz

Paul Burton is the Senior Dean and Leader of Health. He works closely with the house deans on all important matters.

Y13 Dean

Angela Smith asmith@stc.school.nz

Restorative Justice Leader

Kieran Coll kcoll@stc.school.nz

House Deans

Joyce – Tom Tennent  – ttennent@stc.school.nz

Tom Tennent has pastoral responsibility for all students in Joyce house.

 

Marlow – Chris Leader – cleader@stc.school.nz

Chris has pastoral responsibility for all students in Marlow house.

 

Rice – Megan Heather mheather@stc.school.nz

Megan has pastoral care responsibility for all students in Rice house.

 

McClintock – Andrew Strachan –  astrachan@stc.school.nz

Andrew Strachan has pastoral responsibility for all students in McClintock house. Andrew Strachan is a teacher of English.

Year 7 and 8 Pastoral Care

Billy Gulliver – bgulliver@stc.school.nz

Billy has responsibility in the Year 7 and 8 area to support students with behavioural or emotional needs. Billy also works very closely with the house deans.

Head of Learning Support

Dean Smith – dsmith@stc.school.nz

Dean has responsibility for all students who may require extra support around learning needs. At St Thomas’, there is a strong emphasis on the holistic development on our young men and Dean and his team have an overall view of students who may need extra support. They communicate with teachers and parents on a regular basis and assess and monitor students throughout the year.

Head of Middle School

Hamish Barclay – hbarclay@stc.school.nz

Hamish has responsibility for for all students in Year 7, 8, 9. The Year 7  Mentor and House Coordinator will be first contact and will liaise with Hamish as required. Hamish coaches rugby, touch, sevens and rugby league at St Thomas’.

Counsellor/Career Guidance

Brian Knopp – bknopp@stc.school.nz

Brian is our guidance counsellor and careers advisor. Brian is there to support boys who are experiencing difficulties in their lives. All meetings are confidential.

Counsellor

Maryanne Skidmore – mskidmore@stc.school.nz

Teacher in charge of Pasifika

Leuma Gali – lgali@stc.school.nz

Leuma supports and mentors Pasifika students within the school and wider community. He runs the parent/family meetings and community cultural activities.

Teacher in Charge of Maori

Keri Campbell – kcampbell@stc.school.nz

Keri has a role to support Maori students within the school. Keri leads the regular whanau meetings and kaupapa maori events. He coaches volleyball in the school.

Process

If a student/parent/teacher has a concern (behaviour, bullying, conflict, disobedience, grief/loss) and requires extra support, please approach:

 

Mentor Teacher

House Coordinator

Further discipline required

Mr Dan O’Brien

Mr Taylor/Mr Knopp – Careers

 Further support required

Mr Knopp

Dean Smith – Learning Support

+ +