Skip to main content

Our People

What makes a good school great? The People.

He tangata, He tangata, He tangata 

What the teacher is, is more important than what he teaches.

― Karl A. Menninger 

During your son’s intermediate and high school life, he will spend over 8000 hours being educated, mentored, and inspired by teachers. Our focus is on recruiting and providing to our parent base the very best educators possible. With the requirements of a 21st Century learning environment and the importance of good supportive role models to develop character, we are proud to be a school that focuses on these areas. 

Senior Leadership Team

Steve Hart
Principal

“I have three boys (and one daughter) and I am passionate about boys’ education and sport…for me it is all about character and ensuring that we do our best in turning boys into the right type of man.”

Stephen Kennedy  
Director of Religious Studies
“What unites is clear: like Jesus Christ, we are passionate about people (He aha te mea nui o te ao?  He tāngata, he tāngata, he tāngata) and we are called to teach, develop and implement the Catholic programme in Christian faith and living. Our Special Character is not simply added on to what would otherwise be a secular state school because it is integral to everything that takes place in the school and provides a climate of hope, inspiration and service for all its members. My role is to guide the community of staff, students and whanau to carry out the Church’s mission to bring people to God through sacraments, prayer, service, right relationships and social justice. I am passionate about boys’ education and their development into manhood.”
Brendan Biggs 
Deputy Principal

“I love the opportunity for diversity and creativity in education…I am committed to excellence and also giving boys opportunities and pathways that they otherwise may not have had.”

Hamish Barclay
Assistant Principal – Junior School

“I am committed to doing my part in supporting the needs of our teachers and students…schools are far more than educational institutes, they provide a sense of belonging and leave an imprint in a young person’s life forever.”

Daniel O’Brien
Assistant Principal – Enhancement and Culture

“Developing young men into well-rounded leaders in our community is our focus. Ensuring they build strong relationships with empathy at the core is the key to Educated Hearts at St Thomas’.”

Andrew Auimatagi  
Assistant Principal –  Engagement and Innovation

“ I believe the teacher-student partnership is a key factor in unlocking the potential of our young men both inside and outside of the classroom… Relationships are the foundation as we strive to engage hearts and minds through education”

Paul Burton       
Assistant Principal – Operations & Sport 

“St Thomas’ is a kura that is constantly striving to grow good people with strong ethics. I love the way our staff continue to adapt and foster new ideas in educating the young men in our community”

Hamish McCombie  
Business Manager 

Schools are dynamic places with many moving parts….. I love working in the engine room surrounded by caring, inspirational people that are focused on doing their part in supporting our wonderful community.” 

Mark Hammett
Director of High Performance & Wellbeing
Director – Graduate Academy of Sport (G.A.S)
Head Coach – 1st XV Rugby

“Developing young men into well-rounded leaders in our community is our focus. Ensuring they build strong relationships with empathy at the core is the key to Educated Hearts at St Thomas’.”

Leaders of Learning

Specialist Classroom Teacher

Robbie Lange “Guiding our young men in their learning at this key stage of their lives is a great privilege for me as a teacher of the College. I am inspired by the way our College targets the holistic development of the learner both inside and outside of the classroom environment.”

Social Sciences

Seye Chan “…At STC, the Social Science Department focuses on educating global citizens to understands how past and present actions and events have and are shaping our world, and how these actions will define our future … teaching these complex relationships between people and the environment, will give our students the tools to be at the forefront of planning a more sustainable future for the well-being of all global citizens.”   

Languages 

Elizabeth Kennedy  “…It’s so important to learn another language in these modern globally-influenced times. Whether it’s brushing up on a familiar language to cultivate links with your culture or being brave enough to try an unfamiliar language, every student who studies a language at St Thomas’ comes away with a better understanding of themselves and the world around them.”

Mathematics 

Carrie Whyte

Health and Physical Education 

Tim Muir “…Health and Physical Education isn’t only about providing our young men the opportunity to be physically active, it also challenges them to think critically and provide them skills to live healthy, well-balanced lifestyles. In doing this I believe we set them up for life outside of school and give them every chance of success in wherever their passions take them. The strength of this is creating good characters that are confident in themselves and aren’t afraid of aiming high.”
Whāia te iti kahurangi ki te tūohu koe me he maunga teitei
Seek the treasure you value most dearly: if you bow your head, let it be to a lofty mountain

Art 

Vincent Raj  “…The trick of it is to let the students think they are having fun when in fact they are learning. In my time here I have been able to work with some of the students who do not get much joy through traditional educational pathways. It remains my privilege to help them have fun and get credits too.”

Performing Arts/Music

Ben Crosson “…My role is to ensure all students get an opportunity to be part of the Performing Arts program here at STC. This subject area serves as a platform to add so much vibrancy and colour to our school culture and wider community. I believe the more our akonga are exposed to the arts, the more confident, creative and enriched their lives become, which ultimately leads to greater success.”

English 

Angela Smith 

Science 

Matt Kippenberger

Religious Studies

Tony Mullally

Pastoral

Leader of Pastoral Care  

Dan O’Brien  dobrien@stc.school.nz

Dan has the overall responsibility for the pastoral team. As a team, they work closely with each other to work out the best path for the individual student. In circumstances that require a higher level of intervention, Dan will work with all parties involved whether that be student, teacher, parents and other relevant community affiliates within our restorative framework.

Director of Pastoral Care

Katie Stanton  kstanton@stc.school.nz

Katie joined us in 2022 to take up this 2IC Pastoral Care – a  lead role in the day-to-day pastoral issues position which incudes leading high level conferences and supporting our deans to lead conferences. A lead role in the day-to-day pastoral issues.

Leader of Health

Paul Burton pburton@stc.school.nz 

Paul Burton is the Leader of Health. He works closely with the house deans on all important matters.

Y13 Dean 

Angela Smith asmith@stc.school.nz 

Restorative Justice Leader 

Kieran Coll  kcoll@stc.school.nz 

Kieran works alongside the pastoral care team and staff, assisting with the Restorative Justice process within the college. 

2024 Pastoral Deans:

Shannon Hurley shurley@stc.school.nz

Chris Leader  cleader@stc.school.nz

Carrie Whyte cwhyte@stc.school.nz 

Ruihi Kawenga  rkawenga@stc.school.nz 

Billy Gulliver  bgulliver@stc.school.nz 

Head of Learning Support 

Dean Smith  dsmith@stc.school.nz 

Dean has responsibility for all students who may require extra support around learning needs. At St Thomas’, there is a strong emphasis on the holistic development of our young men and Dean and his team have an overall view of students who may need extra support. They communicate with teachers and parents on a regular basis and assess and monitor students throughout the year. 

Head of Middle School 

Hamish Barclay  hbarclay@stc.school.nz 

Hamish has responsibility for all students in Year 7, 8, 9. The Year 7 Mentor and House Coordinator will be the first contact and will liaise with Hamish as required.

 Counsellor 

Maryanne Skidmore  mskidmore@stc.school.nz 

Maryanne provides support in a confidential setting with individuals, groups and families who are dealing with issues affecting mental health and well-being. 

 Counsellor 

Patrick McEntyre  pmcentyre@stc.school.nz 

Pasifika

Johnny Leo’o jleoo@stc.school.nz

Johnny provides leadership and pastoral care to Pasifika students.

Teacher in Charge of Māori Student Mentoring 

Ruihi Kawenga rkawenga@stc.school.nz 

 

Order of contact:

Mentor Teacher

Pastoral Dean

 

Further discipline required

Mr Dan O’Brien

Further support required

Dean Smith – Learning Support

Staff Contacts

Joyce House (Red)

JOAA: Andrew Auimatagi  aauimatagi@stc.school.nz

JOBL: Bernie Lee  blee@stc.school.nz

JOBR: Ben Rapson  brapson@stc.school.nz

JODR: Dan Ryan  dryan@stc.school.nz

JOKM: Kathryn Morgan  kmorgan@stc.school.nz

JOMK: Matt Kippenberger mkippenberger@stc.school.nz

JORL: Robbie Lange  rlange@stc.school.nz

JOSM: Angela Smith  asmith@stc.school.nz

JOSR: Shane Reddy  sreddy@stc.school.nz

JOTT: Tom Tennent  ttennent@stc.school.nz

Marlow House (Yellow)

MABC: Ben Crosson  bcrosson@stc.school.nz

MABF: Bronwyn Fitzpatrick bfitzpatrick@stc.school.nz

MAJL: Johnny Leo’o  jleoo@stc.school.nz

MAKL: Karim Lafdal  klafdal@stc.school.nz

MAKS: Katie Stanton  kstanton@stc.school.nz

MAMY: Jack Mayo  jmayo@stc.school.nz

MASE: Daniel Seelen  dseelen@stc.school.nz

MASK: Stephen Kennedy  skennedy@stc.school.nz

MASS: Sai Saukuru  ssaukuru@stc.school.nz

MAVR: Vincent Raj  vraj@stc.school.nz

MAYO: Jack Mayo jmayo@stc.school.nz

McClintock House (Green)

MCBB: Brendan Biggs  bbiggs@stc.school.nz

MCBS: Blair Scadden  bscadden@stc.school.nz

MCCW: Carrie Whyte cwhyte@stc.school.nz

MCDH: David Hooper  dhooper@stc.school.nz

MCJQ: Matt Tod-Smith mtodsmith@stc.school.nz

MCKC: Kieran Coll  kcoll@stc.school.nz

MCMS: Maryanne Skidmore  mskidmore@stc.school.nz

MCPB: Paul Burton  pburton@stc.school.nz

MCPM: Phil McKendry  pmckendry@stc.school.nz

MCSC: SeYe Chan  schan@stc.school.nz

Rice House (Black)

RIAB: Aidan Baker  abaker@stc.school.nz

RIAS: Andrew Strachan astrachan@stc.school.nz

RICT: Lucy Flattery T1 lflattery@stc.school.nz , Lexi Cutbush T2-4 lcutbush@stc.school.nz

RIDS: Dean Smith  dsmith@stc.school.nz

RIEK: Elizabeth Kennedy  ekennedy@stc.school.nz

RIHB: Hamish Barclay  hbarclay@stc.school.nz

RIJG: Joseph Durkin-Gorman  jdurkingorman@stc.school.nz

RIMU: Tony Mullally  tmullally@stc.school.nz

RIPD: Paddy Dowling pdowling@stc.school.nz

RITM: Tim Muir  tmuir@stc.school.nz

 

Support Staff – Admin 

Reception – Lynley Gibson  lgibson@stc.school.nz

Principal’s PA – Jo Fitzgerald  jfitzgerald@stc.school.nz

Accounts (Bursar) – Jackie Redmond  jredmond@stc.school.nz

Uniforms – Ngaire Lester  nlester@stc.school.nz

Attendance – Christina Tuiloma ctuiloma@stc.school.nz


Support Staff – Learning Support

Learning Support TA – Narelle Ferguson  nferguson@stc.school.nz

Learning Support TA – Chris Cranefield  ccranefield@stc.school.nz

Learning Support TA  – Des Kaisami   dkaisami@stc.school.nz

Learning Support TA – Robina Jorgensen – rjorgensen@stc.school.nz

Learning Support TA/Science Lab Technician – Julia Winton jwinton@stc.school.nz


Support Staff – Sports

Head of Sport – Andrew Cavill acavill@stc.school.nz

Sports Coordinator – Daniel Kahura  dkahura@stc.school.nz

Sports Coordinator – Joe Hammond  jhammond@stc.school.nz

Sports Coordinator – Chloe Roberts croberts@stc.school.nz

Careers

Careers Liaison – Jackie Redmond – jredmond@stc.school.nz

Student Leaders

College Captain


Afa Apulu

Deputy College Captain 


Felix Bargh

Deputy College Captain


Finn Steel

WHĀNAU Leader


Toby Gibson

WHĀNAU Leader


Kamaioha Perenara O’Connell

Pasifika Leader


Sanele Uliano

Filipino Leader


Sean Tambalque

Rice Kaitiaki


Mino Petelo

McClintock Kaitiaki


Nico Heather

Marlow Kaitiaki


Monty Tafili

Joyce Kaitiaki


Xavier Lynch

ER Justice & Solidarity Leader


Seamus Gallagher 

ER Liberating Education Leader


Max Fale

Culture Leader


El Pacatang 

Sports leader


Alex Walls

Student Council Chairman


Gabe Kennedy

St Thomas school values its staff and aims to appoint leading educators and experienced practitioners to teaching and non-teaching roles.